Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

In the 00'-03' A4 Avants, what should I be looking for?

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2006, 11:14 PM
Default In the 00'-03' A4 Avants, what should I be looking for?

Hi guys,

Newbie here to the audi world. I'm thinking of picking up another car this fall and figured this would be a great time to begin researching. My two seater just isn't cutting it anymore so now and I'm getting to that point where I'd like to have a NICE 4 door which I could drive daily. I'mmainly looking for a wagon because I'd like the space it provides and have narrowed it down to an old 540 or an A4 Avant.

I'm looking at 00-03 avants, prob 1.8T and automatic. Willing to spend in the ballpark of 15k. I've tinkered with every car I've owned in the past 10 years (including adding forced induction) but for this one, I will probably only make minor changes. Like everone here, I like having a good time driving but I don't plan on spending heaps and heaps of money on turbos and electronics this time.

My question are:

1) what should I be watching out for when checking out Avants from this period? I know in 2002, they revamped the model but I honestly don't see much of a difference from the pictures I see on the net.

2) how is the A4's reliability? I remember when I was looking at Audi's back in 2000, many people were telling me to stay away. The feedback I got was from personal owners who's cars were always in the shop and from non-owners who heard from friends. I checked online and see there are very few recalls in A4s from that period.

3) is there a link to the upgrade paths for the A4 Avant? I'd be interested in what possibilities are out there.