B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

High pitched straining noise? help?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 11:45 AM
1st Gear
Default High pitched straining noise? help?

I'm fairly new to the Audi scene, I have a 1998 manual 2.8L Quattro, 124,xxx miles. When I turn the car on after it's been sitting for awhile (few hours) there is a high pitched straining noise. It sounds very similar to an electric motor on its last legs? I don't really know how else to describe it, also it seems to be coming from the drivers side under the hood. I haven't been able to locate it yet, becasue it only lasts for about 1 - 2 minutes max. Also once it stops if I turn the car off then back on, its no longer an issue. It only comes back after the car has been off for a few hours. There have been no performance issues related to the noise(yet), it just sounds very sketchy, like somethings going to break soon. Any ideas? It started about 2 months back. Thanks

Old 12-07-2009, 12:07 PM
2nd Gear

Sounds like it could be two things. My first intuition tells me its just the secondary air pump clicking on. That pump is designed to run for the first couple minutes you start the car when the engine is 'cold' (specifically, I believe this is something along the lines of the coolant temp being below some specific temperature) and the function is purely for emissions, it pumps a little extra air into the exhaust mani to make the post-cat O2 sensors think the car is running rich so that the warm up stage doesn't spew as much unburned fuel while things are getting up to normal operating temp (at least that's what I've gathered the function to be, if anyone else can correct me, I'd like to know).